Archives for 2012

Fellowship Program

The 2014 Fellowship Application is now available here.

The dates for the fellowship application process are below:

New Earlier Fellowship Application Timeline For the 2014 Match

Fellowships beginning: July 1, 2014
New Earlier Application Period: December 2012- June 1, 2013
Interview Period: January 2013- June 2013
Candidates & Program Directors Submit Match List by: June 15, 2013
Notification of Result: July 1, 2013

Please contact Aaron Goodman at for any questions regarding the Fellowship match.

2012 Prevention & Early Detection Community Grant:

Congratulations to the 2012 Prevention and Early Detection Community Grant Winners: Dr. Edie R. Hapner, PhD from Emory University and Dr. Jose P. Zevallos, MD from the Baylor College of Medicine. Also congratulations to our Honorable Mention winners: Dr. Deepak Kademani, DMD, MD and Dr. Bevan Yueh from the University of Minnesota and Matthias Lechner, MD from the UCL Cancer Institute London.

2012 Fellowship Program match results

The American Head and Neck Society proudly announce the
2012 Fellowship Program match results. Congratulations to all!

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center:Jonathan George
Medical College of Georgia:Katrina Chaung
Medical University of South Carolina:Jeffrey Houlton
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center:Yamil Castillo-Beauchamp
Laura Dooley
Mount Sinai School of Medicine:Laureano Giraldez
Ohio State University:Jon Chan
Roswell Park Cancer Institute:Rob Singh
University of Alberta:Hani Almarzouki
University of California: DavisVincent Biron
Nathaniel Peterson
University of Cincinnati:Eric Thorpe
University of Iowa:Steven Sperry
University of Kansas:Levi Ledgerwood
University of Miami:Keith Richardson
University of Michigan:Chaz Stucken
University of Manitoba:Mohammed Alessa
University of Nebraska:Andrew Coughlin
University of Pennsylvania:Raymond Chai
Mihir Patel
University of Pittsburgh:Daniel Clayburgh
Nicole Schmitt
University of Toronto:Lukasz Czerwonka
Paul Walker
University of Washington:Nicole Fowler

Research Awards

Congratulations to the 2012 AHNS Award Winners!

  • AHNS Alando J. Ballantyne Resident Research Pilot Grant:
    Neerav Goyal, MD, The Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine “Determining the Association between Radon Levels and Thyroid Cancer”
  • AHNS Pilot Research Grant:
    John Frederick, MD, The University of Alabama at Birmingham “Anti-cd147 Inhibits EGFR Signaling in Cutaneous Squamous Cell Carcinoma
  • AHNS Pilot Research Grant:
    Daria Gaykalova, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, “Transcription Factor Signature of Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma”
  • AHNS/AAO-HNS Young Investigator Award:
    Allen Ho, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, “Mutational Characterization of Adenoid Cystic Carcinoma”

Read all about the AHNS Award program here.
Read the Grant Reports, written by previous winners, including Dr. Wang’s report on Hyaluronan Signaling in Head and Neck Cancer Progression.

AHNS Quality of Care Statement

AHNS Quality of Care Article

The Prevention Committee has posted a position statement on Screening for Head and Neck Cancer located here.



  • Applications are now being accepted for consideration in 2013. The deadline for all required documents for 2013 is October 31, 2012. For more membership application information, please click here.
  • Members may order a membership certificate using this form (Active, Corresponding, and Associate members only).


Following is a list of AHNS applicants for the 2012 membership cycle. Active members of the Society may elect to comment on a particular applicant.
Comments may be provided in writing from January 9 – March 9, 2012.
Click here for 2012 list.